Posted by: kbumgardaner | December 2, 2010

Grandma

I haven’t had the chance to see my Grandma very often in the last few years, but I have a lifetime of memories with Grandma. My first memories of her are as a vibrant red-head. Somehow, I don’t think it was her natural color but she wore it with pizzaz! 🙂
She and Grandpa lived in a tiny little trailer in the woods and she did her best to make it home. I’ll never forget when I visited there and she pulled out a little box with my Mom’s doll and her clothes, probably most of them made by my Grandma. I thought it was an amazing treasure! What fun it was to play with my Mom’s old doll and how special that my Grandma saved it for me for when I visited.
Grandma also tried to teach me to crochet, though I wasn’t a very good student. She made beautiful crocheted items for my babies when they were born, and I will always treasure them.
Though her life wasn’t easy, she always tried to look her best. Her nails were always impeccably filed and painted even in the nursing home at 90.
Grandma went home to be with her Savior this week and now walks fully upright along the streets of gold, enjoying her beautiful new home. Her hair is vibrant, if nails can be painted in Heaven, I’m sure they are a beautiful shade of pink…. Grandpa trails behind her, looking at the glories of Heaven and itching to capture them with his brush. Grandma rushes ahead, looking for her next adventure!


Leave a comment

Categories