Posted by: kbumgardaner | April 15, 2012

Book Review of Beckon

by Tom Pawlin

Welcome to Beckon. You’re not here by chance…. The sign that met George Wilcox as he entered the town of Beckon. He was there because he was promised a cure for his wife’s illness. For a totally different reason, police officer Elina Gutierrez finds herself in Beckon. Her cousin was missing and the clues led her straight to Beckon. Anthropologist, Jack Kendrick went to Beckon seeking answers to his father’s disappearance several years before.
Each led there for different reasons, yet each find themselves drawn together by a common thread…the secret evil that lurked in the caves beneath the small town. The evil that they find threatens to draw them in, but they each must find their own escape.
Personally, I’m not a science fiction reader…. definitely not a fan of the sci-fi genre. However, this novel was skillfully crafted and kept me awake for several nights until I finished reading. There were parts where I wanted to cover my eyes! (Which doesn’t work very well when you’re reading.)  {grins}
For the science fiction lovers out there who want a good clean, well- written novel, this book is for you. Pawlik has a clever imagination and is an elegant storyteller.

I was given a copy of this book for purpose of review, and I was not required to give it a positive review.


Leave a comment

Categories