Posted by: kbumgardaner | December 20, 2010

JOY! JOY! JOY!

I wish everyone had the opportunity to sit just one service on the platform at church and see the autistic boy in the front row who loves music. I think his name is Joseph, but I’m not even sure. All I know is that each week, he reminds me of what JOY really LOOKS like. This morning in particular…
Today, as we stood and sang “Angels We have heard on High,” Joseph began jumping to the rhythm of the music, waving his arms and directing the song, then, as we reached the “Glo-o-o-o-o-ria, Inexelsis dio…” he began to jump as he waved his arms joyfully…Somehow, I think his reaction is probably much more what the shepherds truly felt as they heard the angels sing of Christ our Savior being born…much more then our subdued singing.
When I watch Joseph direct his songs, I can’t help but smile. Joseph likes to mimic the song leader, right down to the facial expression, motions and rhythm of the music. He may be mimicing, but I think he is also expressing his own true joy of the music.
I don’t know how much Joseph understands, but I do know that each week I am continually blessed by his joy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

