Posted by: kbumgardaner | September 2, 2011

Bible Review

Ishine Bible NLT
I was sent two copies of this Bible for review-one for girls and one for boys. They have very fun covers in bright and colorful designs that the tweens will love. My ten year old loved the cool cover. She also said the version was easier to understand than some of the others she has read. She liked the graphic pictures inside as well; however, when I peeked into junior church, that was what she was looking at instead of paying attention. That was not really a selling point for me- though I do remember enjoying the pictures in my Bible at a younger age, by the tween age, I want her to be paying attention.
As far as the pictures inside of the Bible and the content on the web links, I felt personally that they looked too worldly for my taste though what they were saying was good. I want my daughter to know that Christians should be different, not mimicking the world.
I thought that the questions and answers in the Bible were well written and easily understood. My daughter is in the stage where she knows she needs to be baptized, but she’s scared. I looked for baptism in the question and answer section and found it missing. This was disappointing to me. We should not avoid topics that may be controversial. The Bible is quite clear on baptism.
Overall, I found it to be an attractive alternative for the tween-ager, but do not like the fact that the appearance of the content is pushing a little close to the world. We are to be in the world but not of it.

I was given these Bibles for the purpose of review.

Leave a Reply

Categories

