Posted by: kbumgardaner | March 28, 2010

Book Review: Hand of Fate by Lis Wiehl with April Henry

Hand of Fate by Lis Wiehl and April Henry was a great read with action, suspense and personality throughout. It is a novel about a polarizing talk show host who is murdered with multiple suspects who may have wanted him dead. The Triple Threat club, made up of a journalist, a prosecutor and an FBI agent work together to solve the crime that has become way too personal for one of the three.
The author fleshed out Jim Fate in the first chapter and captured my attention with the immediate suspense and action. The character of Jim Fate often reminded me of various media personalities and though I tried to figure out whom the character was based on, I finally decided it was a combination of many interesting real life characters from Hannity to Levin to Limbaugh. I saw a little bit of each and found Fate likable yet polarizing at the same time.
With the central characters in the book, I found myself wishing they were described a bit more. Since I have not read the first Triple Threat novel, I was a bit lost with some of the references to previous happenings as well as the appearance of each character.
Though it is definitely a suspense novel, I also enjoyed the underlying plot woven throughout. Each of the central characters are flawed human beings with differing perspectives on life, love and God which made me connect and empathize with each of the women while wanting to help each of them through their individual struggles as they work the case together.
Which leads me back to “whodunit!” I love a twist! Normally, I have a pretty good idea of who the killer is, but not this time. It was definitely a surprise when the murderer was revealed. On one side, it was disappointing that I hadn’t figured it out. On the other, it made it more suspenseful to be perplexed until the very end!
Overall, I recommend this book. Though it was not a Christian novel, it was not offensive to me as a Christian and I enjoyed reading it very much. It was a great read from beginning to end, and I’m ready to pick up the next Triple Threat novel.

A free copy was sent to me by the publishers for the purpose of review.

Leave a Reply

Categories

