Posted by: kbumgardaner | March 20, 2010

Where is my heart?

Over the last year, I have gone through some “career” changes. I was an Administrative Assistant in a very busy department at the college. Then, I was hired as a photography assistant in training, then, became a photographer. Meanwhile, I am working in the library on Maranatha’s campus which is a job that is much slower paced than my previous job. At first, this change of pace was a challenge, but I have become accustomed to it.
Often though, during this period of transition, people would ask what I am doing now after my job was eliminated in Athletics. When I tell them what I am doing, including photography, they often say something about the photography being where my heart is.
They aren’t far off…I do LOVE photography and it was one of my dreams to work in the photography field…a dream come true.
I have to say though, that though I love photography, it is not my “heart.”
First of all, if I succeed in a “career,” but my family is not successful, my heart is not in the right place. They are my heart, first and foremost. Secondly, I realized something last night at the Installation of the new president of Maranatha and that was this…my heart is in my work at Maranatha with the students that I care so much about and the institution and people which have worked their way into my heart and soul. Last year was painful. This year is hopeful. So, no matter what position I hold on the campus of Maranatha, that is where my heart is. I love this place…this miracle college and to quote a great president…”I wouldn’t trade this gorilla glue for  one hundred “blings.”
(See a later post to explain this quote by Dr. Marriott! 😀 )

Responses

  1. Kim, I think this is great! You have a real gift in your ability to write what you feel. I think that is a talent greater than photography.
    I’m so glad your heart is really in the Lord’s work and in the place where He has put you. Love Mom

    • I don’t know that it’s greater than photography. They both have their merits but thanks for your encouragement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

