Posted by: kbumgardaner | February 10, 2010

A Life Well Spent

Soon, we will be watching a friend cross the threshold between here and eternity. Of course, there is an air of sadness and grief, particularly for his widow. However, this couple has been a shining example of Christ to their neighbors, friends and everyone they meet. Their attitude of service has been inspirational to many over the years and though he will be sorely missed, how exciting to know that he will cross into Jesus’ presence, cancer free and hear “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

How many times growing up did I hear, “It’s only one life, t’will soon be past…only what’s done for Christ will last. I thought about it but do I live it? What a challenge to think if this was my last day, week, month, year on earth, what would I do? How would I live?

Would I, as the song says, go sky diving, mountain climbing, spend extra moments with my family and let more mundane things go? Would I watch NCIS or spend time in God’s Word? Of course, there is a place for entertainment in our lives but it is a good reminder to live with eternity’s values in view.

Responses

  1. Hmmm, perhaps I should pick this one up?


Leave a Reply

Categories

