Posted by: kbumgardaner | September 7, 2009

Today’s Choices-Eternal Consequences

I dreamed one night that a school bus narrowly missed a collision with a train due to some neglect to have the proper safety measures in place. The “authorities” then took precautions to prevent this from happening again. Instead of being appreciative, the people in my dream protested. They felt they had the “right” to be on the railroad tracks if they wanted. So, as I watched in horror, hundreds of men, women and children walked down the tracks-laughing and talking-oblivious to the train roaring towards them.

In my dream, I screamed at them-pleading with them to flee the danger, to get off the tracks or they would die. No one listened. I woke up before anything happened, but the dream really made me think of how many people lead destructive lives, oblivious to the danger, choosing instead to ignore the truth and  enjoy sin for a season. I wonder how many think of the cost-think beyond the moment to the future ramifications of their choices. How many choices have I made without thinking beyond the moment?

Today’s choices will have eternal consequences.

Leave a Reply

Categories

