Posted by: kbumgardaner | August 3, 2009

The Solid Rock

When darkness veils his loving face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.

For some reason, I never really caught the meaning in those lyrics before. Sometimes the darkness is all around us and we can’t see our way. We can’t even see Christ in the darkness, BUT we can know that His grace is unchanging. We can rest in the knowledge that though our circumstances are difficult, His grace is sufficient.

In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.
I’ve never been on a boat during a storm, but I can imagine that the vessel would be tossed to and fro by the wind, beat by the waves and thrown about. How would this feel without an anchor? Without an anchor, there would be nothing to keep the vessel from smashing against the rocks, from being pulled out to sea by the crashing waves. BUT…with an anchor, there is stability. Though the vessel is still tossed about, and the wind is still beating against the ship, it is secure, held in place by the anchor. You are secure and can ride out the storm in the knowledge that your anchor will hold you in a place of refuge until the storm passes.

 

 On Christ the solid rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

This part of the hymn reminds me of Psalm 61:2b When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to that ROCK that is higher than I.
In this passage, I picture myself in the water, unable to get a foothold in the churning  sand beneath the water- when suddenly a rock is before me. There is security in the rock. It means safety, stability, and respite from the storm.  If I  choose to stay in the sinking sand, the rock cannot help me. Only when I trust that the rock is going to be a place of safety- only when I choose the solid rock over the sinking sand will it bring me peace from the storm.

So it goes in life…we all have trials and losses. We have all been treated unfairly at some point in our lives, but when we choose to remain in the sinking sand, unwilling to let go of pride and accept that God is our refuge and strength, a PRESENT help in trouble, a solid rock on which we can stand, we will feel only emptiness and anger instead of peace and forgiveness.

I don’t know about you, but sand between my toes is not a pleasant feeling for me…sinking into the sand has got to be a tough place to be, always grasping but never able to pull yourself out. On the other hand, being on a rock, though firm, is not always comfortable either. We know from God’s Word that being a follower of Christ does not mean living a perfect life filled with only happiness.  Thankfully though, we, as Christians, can claim the promise found in Psalm 5:11 and live a life filled with joy inspite of the storms around us.
…Let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

