Posted by: kbumgardaner | June 28, 2009

The Miracle of Forgiveness

A couple of years ago, I was forced into a situation that I had  no control over. I was wronged and sinned against. However, the person asked my forgiveness and I willingly gave it. The repercussions of the sin for the other party were life altering and painful and it was painful for me to see this. I cared for my friend and watching the horrible ramifications of the situation broke my heart. I cried many tears wishing I had done something, ANYTHING to keep this from happening in the first place. There is no going back though. We have to leave the past with God-I knew that but I was struggling.

I knew that I had forgiven but somehow I couldn’t forget. Each time I saw him, I was reminded once again and I just wanted to say…”WHY???” I had so many questions that I knew would never be answered. Yet, the questions continued in my mind.

I prayed many times about this until I was listening to the radio one day and the person on the radio was talking about forgiveness. It was groundbreaking for me because the speaker said that forgiveness sometimes means giving up the RIGHT (that we feel we have) to understand or be understood. That made total sense to me! Then, during the same time period, I came across II Corinthians 2:5-8 which reminded me that it wasn’t all about ME.

II Cor. 2:5-8 Now if anyone has caused pain, he has caused it not to me, but in some measure-not to put it too severely-to all of you. For such a one, this punishment by the majority is enough, so you should rather turn to forgive and comfort him, or he may be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow. So I beg you to reaffirm your love for him.

When I read those verses, it was a ‘wow’ moment for me. The sin had been dealt with publicly and there had been excessive sorrow and remorse. It was time for me to put it behind me and realize that though I would never understand, it didn’t matter. My responsibility was to forgive, comfort and love. That doesn’t mean I am never reminded of it or hurt by the situation, but I have been able to move on and watch his life begin to heal as he paid the consequences and draw closer to the Lord in the process. What a blessing to be able to be relieved of the weight that had beset me and to see the effect of forgiveness on people’s lives.

Responses

  1. Hi nice website.

    Check this site :http://guide-spirituel.blogspot.com

    Amazing videos of true miracles.


Leave a Reply

Categories

