Posted by: kbumgardaner | April 19, 2008

Mouthwash…To GO

 

This situation, though funny to me now, was definitely not a laugh out loud moment at the time, but, as God has taught me several times, when God allows something bad in our lives, He can turn it into something good. In this case, the good was the ability to later laugh at a horrible day.
As usual, we were running late in the morning, and Kendra and I were both trying to get ready in the bathroom. I instructed  Kendra to brush her teeth, but she decided that since she couldn’t put the toothpaste on her toothbrush, she would use mouthwash instead. (That rationale makes perfect sense to a six year old.)
Unfortunately, in my haste that morning, I did not put the lid on tightly. So, as Kendra picked up the mouthwash by the lid, (of course) the bottle somehow flew through the air.  I didn’t see this happen-all I knew is that suddenly cold fluid was all over my eyes, face and hair. When I did pry my eyes open, I found that the mouthwash was still pouring like a fountain all over the bathroom rug AND Kendra. So, when I took stock of what we had going for us, all I found was that we both needed a completely different outfit, and it was time to leave for school.
My oldest daughter in her-“oh, so calm-panic attack-I’m going to be late-this is a fate worse than death” way, grabbed Kendra a dress which Kendra immediately informed her was too small, but I really didn’t care at that point because she was wearing it anyway.
I started digging through my measly amount of clothes in the closet with my oldest daughter insisting that it should be easy to find a new outfit because I have a TON of clothes. (HA! Okay-but I don’t wear half!) Anyway, I digress.
I finally did put together an outfit that would work. Kendra, on the other hand, is obsessed with socks and tights and how they “FEEL WEIRD”-hers now being very blue and wet  needed to be relaced. (Did I mention that we were supposed to leave at least 10 minutes before by this point?) Danae found Kendra socks and “helped” her put them on. Kendra hated them and whipped them off as they both screamed lovingly at each other. I, being the calm and collected Mom that I am, came in and “helped” find more socks which Danae very gently “helped” Kendra put on her feet. Finally, we made it to the van and as we drove down the road to school, I felt my sticky hair and face and figured that someday I would laugh at all this. The good news is that by the time I got to work…I was definitely laughing…hysterically, but LAUGHING!

Leave a Reply

Categories

