Posted by: kbumgardaner | March 12, 2008

My Rock

Psalm 61:2b When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to that ROCK that is higher than I.

I think that this is one of my favorite verses from the Psalms. It has always created a picture in my mind that I will try to describe to you. 

I picture a solitary soul battling to stay afloat in a tumultuous sea. They are giving up hope for it seems that nothing can save them-there is no help in sight. Suddenly however, through the rain that pounds unceasingly on their head and pours into their eyes, they see something rising majestically out of the water–a rock-it stands as a refuge from the battering waves. The knowledge that there is a place of salvation spurs the drowning person on, and they fight, seemingly guided by an unseen force, through the onslaught of the storm’s rage to the rock where they are finally safe. There, they find refuge, a peaceful place in the midst of the storm. Though the  sea still rages around them, the waves that threatened to engulf them are no longer a threat because they have found a rock that is higher than the danger, above the trouble-safety in the midst of the storm. 

Maybe this is just something my imagination brings to this verse, but it offers me hope that I can know that I know that I know that He will always be there when my heart is overwhelmed whether it be by the mundane or the catastrophic-He is my Rock.

Responses

  1. woah. that was really profound. thanks kim!


Leave a Reply

Categories

